Liberal MP Julia Banks has announced she’s immediately quitting her party and will sit as an independent on the crossbench, prompting the crossbench to form a minor party.

The government now has just 74 members of parliament, after losing Malcolm Turnbull’s seat of Wentworth to Independent, Kerryn Phelps.

“Now we have seven members on the crossbench we are going to form our own political party,” Banks told reporters.

“The Crossbench Party of Australia.”

The Australian public is anticipating the crossbench to grow in numbers before the next election.

Image: ABC